If I Clear A Conversation On Snapchat What Happens?

If I clear a conversation on Snapchat what happens? This is one of the big questions many users are asking about using this Snapchat feature. The clear conversation feature on Snapchat allows you to clear your chats or conversation with friends without removing or messing with the content of the chat.

Snapchat is a popular social media platform that allows users to share images, and videos and chat with friends. In this article, we will be sharing some light on what happens when you clear a conversation on Snapchat.

Understanding this will help you decide whether you want to clear your conversation, use the delete after viewing, delete after 24 hours viewing or keep the chats.

What Is The Clear Conversation On Snapchat?

The clear conversation on Snapchat settings is a feature that allows you to wipe clean a conversation or chat threads and remove a friend from your feeds on Snapchat.

Note that clearing a chat with a friend doesn’t remove or delete the chat on the other end, it only removes your chat and leaves your friend’s own intact.

The Snapchat clear conversation feature ignores shared or received. After performing a clear conversation, your content such as videos and images remains intact.

If your chat was saved by you, the saved chat will remain when you reopen the conversation from your friends list even after clearing conversation. To avoid this, tap on the message or messages to unsaved them and retry.

How To Clear Conversation On Snapchat

1: Open your Snapchat and click on your profile.

2: Tap on settings icon at the top right corner of your screen and scroll down to “Account Action” section.

Snapchat Settings icon

3: Click on “Clear Conversation” and scroll through and to the chat you want to clear.

Clear conversation on Snapchat

4: Click on the “X” icon on the left to clear conversation.

5: It will prompt you to confirm by clicking the “Clear” button.

Clear Chat On Snapchat

If You Clear Your Conversation On Snapchat Will The Other Person Know?

When you clear a conversation on Snapchat, the other person in the conversation will still be able to see the messages and content that were shared or sent by both individuals. Snapchat only sends a notification when you take a screenshot of a chat. They don’t send notifications when you clear a chat using the clear conversation option.

Snapchat (You Took A Screenshot Of Chat)

It’s worth noting that clearing a conversation on Snapchat is different from blocking someone on the app. When you block someone on Snapchat, they will no longer be able to see your profile, send you messages, or view any of your content. 

Clearing a conversation simply removes the username from your feeds and chat thread from the conversation. Clearing a conversation does not prevent the other person from seeing your profile or sending you messages in the future.

Why Should I Clear Snapchat Conversations?

Clearing a conversation on Snapchat can be useful for several reasons. For example, if you’ve had a conversation with someone that you no longer want to be reminded of, clearing the conversation can help you move on. It can also be a way to protect your privacy, especially if you’ve shared sensitive information with someone and no longer want that information to be accessible from your device in the conversation.

Deleting Chat After Viewing Or 24 Hours After Viewing

The best alternative to clear conversation for protecting one’s privacy on Snapchat is by enabling the deleting chat after viewing or 24 hours after viewing. Turning any of this feature on helps you delete the whole conversation with your friends on both sides. If you choose to delete a chat or conversation after the recipient has seen it, then the chat will disappear after your friend has read the message. Again, if you choose the 24-hour option, both chats will disappear after 24 hours.

How To Set Delete Conversation Timer

1: Select chat and click on your friends profile.

2: Tap on the three horizontal dots at the top right corner of your screen and select “chat settings“.

Snapchat chat settings

3: Select “Delete Chats” and choose how you what Snapchat to automatically delete your conversations.

Delete chats
clear a conversation on snapchat

Leave a Comment