Turning on or off vanish mode on Instagram is easy, this feature protect and enforce your privacy rights when it comes to sharing information on Instagram.
The vanish mode can be useful in many ways when sharing sensitive information. In this article we will be explaining how you can turn on/off vanish mode on Instagram.
What Is Vanish Mode On Instagram?
With vanish mode, you can safely send photos, videos and messages while chatting with someone on Instagram.
When you turn on vanish mode, anything you send will automatically disappear or delete from the sender and receiver’s chat window, after you leave the chat or turn off vanish mode.
The difference between unsending messages and using the vanish mode on Instagram is that you don’t have to keep deleting messages manually by unsending them. Vanish mode will help automate it and delete all sent messages all at once after seen.
How To Turn On Vanish Mode On Instagram
After everything you have just read about Vanish mode, let’s show you how you can turn on Vanish mode on Instagram.
To turn on vanish mode follow the steps below:
1. Lunch Instagram app.
2. On the Instagram news feed, tap the message icon at the top right corner of the screen.
3. Select the conversation or chat window.
4. Hold and swipe up from the bottom of the chat window until it shows “Release to turn on vanish mode” written in purple color.
Release to turn on vanish mode, and you will get a new chat window displaying “you turned on vanish mode.”
Now that you have successfully turned on vanish mode and once the person has read your messages, the messages will be deleted when you close the chat.
Also, keep in mind that anyone or the recipient in the conversation can take screenshots before they vanish, so you should exercise caution with what you share even in “vanish mode“.
How To Turn Off Vanish Mode
On your Instagram DM, open the chat you enabled vanish mode, again hold and Swipe up until you see “Release to turn off vanish mode” below the chat.
Once you release it, vanish mode will be turned off, and all seen or read messages will be deleted.
After turning off vanish mode, the messages exchanged in the chat will no longer disappear automatically. They will be treated as any other regular messages in your chat history.
How Does Instagram Vanish Mode Work?
When you turn on vanish mode, your contacts or recipient will see a notification that you have turned on vanish mode in the chat.
The whole idea of this is that the recipient can choose to accept or not agree to have a Secret chat with you.
Can the other person turn off vanish mode? The answer to this question is YES. The other party can choose to turn off vanish mode by simply swiping up till the mode is turned off.
Vanish Mode on Instagram is a feature that allows users to have safe conversations. It supports disappearing messages, making shared information disappear once they have been read and once the chat is closed.
Overall, It provides a more temporary and private way to communicate within the app. Remember to update your Instagram app to the latest version to avoid having issues using this feature. And be mindful of the content you share, as it can still be captured using other devices or with a simple screenshot.
Frequently Asked Questions
When you turn on vanish mode, you can also turn it off following the same process of turning it on. You may not need to turn it off, if the other party has already done so.
What you need to do is open the chat you enabled Vanish Mode, hold and swipe up from the bottom of the screen and release the finger to turn it off.
Vanish mode deletes all messages that are sent or shared under it. So Yes, vanish mode deletes messages.