How To Delete Kik Account Permanently Or Temporarily

In this article, you will learn how to delete an account on ik permanently or Temporarily. Kik, a popular messaging app just like many other social media or messaging applications, has an option that allows you to delete your account if you want to.

For some reason, you may want to delete your Kik account, help someone who doesn’t need it anymore or one of your kids or relatives may need to get rid of their account because of some personal reasons.

Gladly, you can simply deactivate your account on Kik if you think you will need it later on, or permanently delete your Kik account if you think you no longer need it now or later.

Before we proceed with how to delete your account on Kik, first you will need to understand how safe Kik is and the difference between permanently deleting your account and temporarily deleting them.

Is Kik App Safe To Use?

Kik is a safe messaging app as it offers tools to communicate privately. It allows users to using their email address for verification without using their phone number.

Kik’s terms of service allow 13 years and older to register, it doesn’t have any way to verify the age of users who have registered, which can be a major concern for parents.

The app allows users to chat with each other anonymously which is the main reason why it’s popular with young people and has also been a tool for predators and scammers.

Kik has taken some steps to address these concerns, but there are still risks associated with using the app as well as many other social media apps.

Just like any other, if you are considering using Kik you should try to limit the information you share with strangers or only chat with people you know and can trust.

Also beware of the signs of cyber bullying, such as threatening messages, embarrassing photos or videos, or rumors being spread. If you are being bullied on Kik, you report it to the app’s Trust and Safety team.

Kik’s Child Safety Tips

Here are some additional tips for parents who are concerned about their child’s safety on Kik. Since Kik does not offer parental settings, so there’s no way to control what your child encounters on the app, there can be a few steps you could take to fix this which include:

 If you don’t want to delete your child’s account

Kik is a popular messaging app, but it is important to be aware of the risks associated with using it. By following these tips, you can help to keep yourself and your child safe.

Read Also: How To Fix Can’t Join Kik Groups 2023

Different Between Temporarily And Permanently Deleting Kik Account

Temporary Delete

When you temporarily delete your Kik account, you are only deactivating it for a specified period hoping to reactivate it later on. After deactivating, your account and all your activities, in essence, all your data will be temporarily removed or hidden from the app.

All your account information and message history will be stored on the Kik servers and can be restored if you decide to reactivate your account after some time.

Permanent Delete

When you permanently delete your Kik account, it means you are requesting a permanent removal of your account. This action is irreversible, and once you confirm the permanent deletion, your account, messages, contacts, and any other data associated with your account will be permanently wiped from the Kik servers. You won’t be able to recover your account or any of the data afterward.

How To Deactivate Kik Account Temporarily

If you’re not sure if you want to permanently delete your Kik account, you can temporarily deactivate it instead. This will hide your account from other users and prevent them from contacting you.

To temporarily deactivate your Kik account, follow these steps:

1. Go to the Kik account deactivation page on you iOS or Android devices.

Kik's deactivate account page

2. Enter your Kik email address and click on “Go” button and an email will be sent to you.

Deactivating email sent

3. You will receive an email from Kik to confirm the action and that’s it.

Received email from kik

Click the “Deactivate” button on the received email to deactivate the account.

How To Reactivate A Deactivated Kik Account

Reactivating a deactivated account is very easy. When you temporarily deactivate your Kik account, you can simply reactivate it by logging back in with your credentials. 

How To Permanently Delete Kik Account 

1. Go to the Kik account deactivation page.

Kik's permanent delection page

2. Enter your Kik username and email address, you can also let Kik know why you are deactivating your account in the extra space provided.

3. Tick the box to acknowledge that you have read and understood what you are about to do and click on the “Go” button.

4. You will receive an email from Kik to confirm the action to permanently delete your Kik account.

Please note that once you delete your Kik account, it cannot be recovered. You will also lose all of your messages, photos, and videos.

Conclusion

Using your iPhone, Laptop or Android devices, you can delete or temporarily disable your Kik account following the instructions on this article, and you can also reactivate your temporarily deactivated account.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I permanently delete my Kik account without email?

If you are unable to delete your kik account because you have lost your email address logins, you should contact Kik’s support for help. Provided you still have your Kik logins, else you can’t delete your account.

How long does it take for a Kik account to be deleted?

When you request to permanently or temporarily disable your account. The action gets carried out immediately after you confirm the request through the email sent to you registered email address.

What happens when you delete a Kik account?

After confirming the action, all your data on Kik get deleted. There will be no trace left and you can’t recover the account.

1 thought on “How To Delete Kik Account Permanently Or Temporarily”

Leave a Comment